Our people

Professor/Head of School

Leadership team

Professor/Head of Department


Associate Professors

Senior Lecturers

  • Sally Doherty (seconded: Psychology Lead, RCSI-Bahrain)


Senior Postdoctoral Researcher

Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Isabelle Jeffares
  • Catherine Moran

Research Assistants

  • Rahela Beghean
  • David Byrne
  • Ellen Kinsella

Honorary Clinical Associate Professor

  • Niall Pender

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

  • Diane Gillan

Department Coordinator

  • Niamh Corbett

Associate Professor/Interim Head of Department


Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Jennifer Fortune
  • Samira Jabakhanji
  • Shona Lee
  • Manjula Manikandan

Research Assistant

  • Eunice Phillip

Professors Emeriti

Honorary Senior Lecturers

  • Paul Kavanagh
  • Sadhbh Lee
  • Lois O’Connor
  • Caoimhe O’Sullivan
  • Niall Roche

Department Coordinator

  • Roma Acosta

Department Administrative Assistant

  • Mary O’Connell

Associate Professor/Head of Centre

Senior Lecturer


Senior Research Fellow

Senior Postdoctoral Researcher

Postdoctoral Researchers

Affiliated Staff


  • Leon McCarthy

Professor/Director of Centre

Research Officer

Interim Chair of Global Surgery

Programme Directors

RCSI/COSECSA Collaboration Programme Manager

  • Lucia Brocato

Education Programme Officer

Research and Patient Outcomes Coordinator

  • Godfrey Sama Philipo

Mixed-methods Research Specialist

StAR PhD Candidate

  • Paul Okeny

Fulbright PhD Scholar

  • Celina Flocks Monaghan

Research Assistant

Communications Officer

  • Antonio Jaén Osuna

Administrative Assistant

  • Fergal O’Rourke

Programme Manager

  • Katherine Walsh

Assistant Director for Academic Affairs

Technology Enhanced Learning Manager

  • Ciarán McCarthy

Programme Administrator

  • Leon McCarthy