Undergraduate Students’ Union

The Students' Union (SU) is an annually elected body, consisting of eight officers.

The SU represents all students on a variety of both academic and non-academic committees and is considered the College's bridge between faculty/administration and the student body.

The SU is invited to most meetings and ensures that student voices are heard on a variety of topics. The Union also works closely with the Student Council, which consists of representatives from all classes at RCSI.

One of the primary duties of the SU is to represent students academically. The Union officers will listen to any problems or concerns that individuals or groups may have, including exam worries, results, use of computers and curriculum changes.

In conjunction with the Student Services Office and the Sports Union, the SU also assist in organising a variety of social events at RCSI throughout the academic year. These include: Freshers' Week, RAG (Raise and Give) week, International Night and the SU College Ball.

Undergraduate Students’ Union 2018

The elected officers of the Student Union 2017/18 are:

  • Abdulwahab Shamsaldin (President)
  • Claire Stenson (Vice President/Educational Officer)
  • Hussain Sajwani (Cultural Officer)
  • Luke Trench (Societies Officer)
  • Alexandra Nieuwesteeg (Welfare Officer)
  • Lai Wei Herng (IT Officer)
  • Laura O’Connor (Events Officer)
  • Niall Ó’Huallacháin (Treasurer/Events Officer)

ICOS is an independent organisation advocating for the rights of all international students in Ireland, whether studying in higher education, further education, in a language school or other setting. Find out more on the ICOS website.