Section of Coloproctology, Royal Society of Medicine

The Council of the Section of Coloproctological, Royal Society of Medicine, offers an Irish travelling fellowship to enable a non-consultant hospital doctor, who is a Fellow or Member of RCSI (in good standing), to attend the annual (overseas) meeting of the Section. 

The successful candidate will be expected to attend the full duration of the overseas meeting. The Fellowship (in value up to an amount of stg£1,000 to cover travel costs) is to be administered by RCSI.

Applicants do not have to be members of the Royal Society of Medicine. The fellowship will be awarded on the basis of an abstract submitted for inclusion in the scientific programme.

The Travelling Fellowship will be awarded on the basis of an abstract submitted for inclusion in the scientific programme.

Abstracts should not include the name(s) of the author(s) nor mention the institute where the work has been done; the necessary information should be included in a covering letter. Please note that presentation of data to the Section at any of the meetings during the year does not preclude its presentation at the overseas meeting.

The application process requires candidates to make a written application, providing details of their proposed Fellowship. It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that their completed application is received in full before the closing date.

The applicant must, before the indicated closing date, submit the following to Caroline McGuinness, Surgical Training Manager, RCSI Surgery:

  • A completed application form
  • A copy of their curriculum vitae
  • Written acknowledgement from the unit to be visited which supports the proposed curriculum and learning outcomes

Please note: Applications are now closed and will reopen in due course.

The following were successful in receiving this award in previous years.

Year Recipient/s
2020 Ian Reynolds (Jersey)
2019 Cillian Clancy (Amsterdam)
2018 Shaheel M. Sahebally (Lisbon)
2017 No fellowship awarded – no suitable Fellow
2016 No fellowship awarded – RSM overseas
2015 Michael Boland Leuven (Dublin)
2014 Michael E. Kelly (Bologna)
2013 John Hogan (Israel)
2012 Desmond Toomey (Geneva)
2011 John P. Burke (Sydney)
2010 Niamh McCawley (Kraków)
2009 Colin Peirce (Berlin)
2008 Ronan Cahill (Boston)
2007 Myles Joyce (Paris)
2006 Ciaran Healy (Prague)
2005 Jurgen Mulsow (Rome)
2004 No fellowship awarded
2003 David John Beddy (Bruges)
2002 John Calvin Coffey (Toulouse)
2001 Ronan Cahill (Malta)