Based in Smurfit Building, Beaumont Hospital, the RCSI Department of Psychiatry employs over 60 staff, working in the areas of education, research and clinical care.

Contact us

The educational aim of the Department of Psychiatry is to equip students with the knowledge, attitude and professionalism required by medical graduates in the assessment, diagnosis and management of patients with mental illness.

During their studies at RCSI, Undergraduate medical students attend clinical attachments at Beaumont Hospital, Connolly Hospital Blanchardstown, North Dublin Mental Health Services, St Vincent's Hospital (Fairview), Cavan General Hospital, Newcastle Hospital, St Luke's Hospital (Kilkenny), Cluain Mhuire Family Centre (Blackrock), University Hospital Waterford, Louth/Meath Mental Health Services, North Kildare Mental Health Services, St Edmundsbury Hospital and Highfield Healthcare.

Clinical teaching includes the use of online video lectures, an interactive tutorial programme, small-group tutorials, case-based teaching and clinical skills tutorials.

The Department of Psychiatry also provides Basic Specialist Training in Psychiatry through the RCSI Basic Specialist Training Deaneries of the College of Psychiatrists of Ireland and Higher Specialist Training in Psychiatry through the National Higher Specialist Training Programme.

In addition to clinical training in psychiatry, we provide research training by offering a range of postgraduate MSc, MD and PhD programmes in key departmental research areas.

The Department of Psychiatry has an active research programme, with specific interests in cellular cytoarchitectural and protein signature of major psychiatric disorders; youth mental health; psychiatric epidemiology; genetics of psychiatric disorders; behavioural phenotypes of genetic disorders; the neuropsychiatry of epilepsy; structural and functional neuroimaging of genetic and neuropsychiatric disorders; ECT; and mental health services research.

The department currently has six PhD scholars working on a diverse range of research projects.

Professor/Head of Department


Clinical Associate Professor

Senior Lecturers

  • Mary Clarke (jointly with Department of Psychology)
  • Mary Cosgrave (North Dublin Mental Health Service)
  • Aideen Moran (Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown)
  • Robert Daly (North Dublin Mental Health Services)
  • Philip Dodd (St Michael’s House (Intellectual Disability)
  • Malcolm Garland (North Dublin Mental Health Services)
  • Larkin Feeney (Cluain Mhuire Family Centre)
  • Aiveen Kirley (Cluain Mhuire Family Centre)
  • MacDara McCauley (St Brigid’s Hospital, Ardee)
  • Siobhan MacHale (Beaumont Hospital)
  • Sarah Prasad (St Patrick's Hospital, St Edmundsbury Hospital, Lucan)
  • Darina Sloan (University Hospital Waterford)
  • Paul Matthews (Naas/North Kildare, Celbrige MHC)
  • Miriam O’Doherty (St Vincent's Fairview)
  • Miriam Kennedy (Highfield)
  • Dan Herlihy (Kilkenny)

Hononary Senior Lecturers

  • Caragh Behan
  • Angela Caballedo
  • Elizabeth Barrett
  • Miriam Kennedy
  • Meave Moran
  • Selena Pillay
  • Justin Brophy
  • Jogin Thakore

Senior Clinical Lecturer

  • Linda O’Rourke

Clinical Lecturers

  • Iulia Dud (Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown)
  • Beata Kowalewska (Beaumont Hospital)
  • Kezanne Tong (Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown)
  • Alison Leonard (Beaumont Hospital)

Lecturer (Psychiatric Neuroscience)

Postdoctoral Fellows

  • Jane English
  • Lorna Lopez
  • Erik O’Hanlon
  • Sophie Sabherwal
  • Aoife O’Gorman

Hononary Lecturers

  • Sorcha McManus
  • Kieran Moore
  • Raju Bangaru
  • Hugh Ramsay
  • Louise Brennan
  • Richard Farrelly

Clinical Tutors

  • Sana Fayyaz (Cavan General Hospital)
  • Cornelia Carey (Cluain Mhuire, Blackrock)
  • Darren Daly (Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown)
  • Katie Irvine (St Vincents’ Hospital, Fairview)
  • Afwan Abdul Wahab (North Dublin MHS)
  • Noha Ibrahim (Newcastle Hospital, Greystones)
  • Zeeshan Mumtaz (St Luke’s Hospital Kilkenny)
  • David O’Donovan (Louth/Meath MHS)
  • Daniel Clear (Kildare North MHS)
  • Mohamed Elamin (Highfield)
  • Awwad Wilson (Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown)
  • Leona Moore (University Hospital Waterford)
  • Sahar Riaz (North Dublin Mental Health Services)
  • Noha Ibrahim (King's College, London)
  • Iulia Dud (Drogheda/North East Mental Health Service)
  • Israa Elkashif (Kilkenny Mental Health Service) 
  • Ajinkya Mehta (Cavan General Hospital)
  • Chinu Simon (Cluain Mhuire, Blackrock)
  • Lucy Connellan  (Newcastle Hospital, Greystones)
  • Shariz Ab Karim (Naas/Kildare North Mental Health Service)
  • Niamh Quigley (St Vincents’ Hospital, Fairview)
  • Mohammed Alsafar (Highfield)

Clinical Research Fellow