The first Chair of Surgery in Ireland was established in RCSI in 1785. Today, the RCSI Department of Surgery is a modern and progressive unit located in the RCSI Smurfit Building, Beaumont Hospital, with bases in Connolly Hospital BlanchardstownOur Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda; Cavan General Hospital; and RCSI York House, St Stephen’s Green.

The Department of Surgery has a long-standing history of collaboration with clinical sites and has expanded over the years to include several clinical sites within Dublin and across the country in the RCSI Hospitals group; the department also has collaborations in Enniskillen, Northern Ireland.

Contact us

The department contributes to both Undergraduate and Postgraduate teaching in RCSI.

The Undergraduate surgical curriculum is delivered both in the classroom and, more importantly, in clinical sites across the country, ensuring appropriate clinical application and practice.

Academic staff from the Department of Surgery engage in several teaching methods that are both student and patient-centred, these include simulation training in our clinical simulation suite in 26 York Street, case-based teaching, clinical problem solving, interactive teaching sessions, multi-disciplinary teaching and interprofessional education.

Surgical departmental staff are also responsible for directing the research programme for third-year medical students, thus exposing Undergraduate students to early research and the basis of evidence-based medicine; and the clinical electives programme for final year students, which provides international collaborations with centres of excellence around the world.

We are also involved in delivering teaching to students in the Physician Associate Studies programme, the paramedic programme, postgraduate teaching to clinical staff within the RCSI Hospitals group and clinical education of postgraduate doctors, including preparation for membership examinations.

The Department of Surgery has a broad continuum of research interests, spanning clinical to translational to basic laboratory research.

Regarding the latter, our principal experimental focus is on breast cancer research. Specifically, the mechanisms of therapeutic resistance to endocrine drugs in breast cancer – which Prof. Leonie Young’s Endocrine Oncology Research Group has recruited over 2,000 patients for to date – and the contribution of altered adhesion to breast cancer development or progression, which the Cancer Adhesion Biology Laboratory, run by Dr Ann Hopkins, is examining.

The department has also established strong collaborative relationships with both national and international collaborators, including NUI Galway, UCD, TCD, Lund University (Sweden), the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Centre at Johns Hopkins (USA), University of Michigan (USA), Western University Ontario (Canada), University of Pittsburgh and Baylor College of Medicine, Texas.

Chair of Department


Senior Lecturers


Clinical Educators

  • Reem Salman
  • Claire Hevican
  • Nektarios Mazarakis
  • Gavin Calpin
  • Eve Kaar
  • Aisha Nafha Saleem
  • Dylan Viani Walsh
  • Susan Ogbo
  • Jack Bell
  • Mary Ellen McMahon
  • Saran Kennedy Williams
  • Gavin Calpin
  • Dylan Viani Walsh
  • Claire Stenson
  • Rosanne Prenderville
  • Jack Logue
  • Adil Elabbas
  • Oliver Barrett
  • Charlotte Bauer-Dowling
  • Abdelrazig Salih
  • Peggy Miller
  • Nitish Dasmuth
  • Siobhan Murphy

Neurosurgery Spinal Fellow

  • Nektarios Mazarakis