Dr Richard Steevens Scholarship

The Dr Richard Steevens’ Scholarship was established by the HSE in 2007, arising from a recommendation of the report of the Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Group.

This important initiative provides a valuable opportunity for specialist medical trainees to spend time training in centres of excellence abroad and to bring the skills gained back to the Irish health service.

The programme is aimed at supporting clinical training as distinct from research and is particularly targeted at specialist/senior registrars who are in the latter stages of their higher specialist training programme, in order to maximise the benefit of specialised training abroad.

More information on this scholarship, including application details, can be found on the HSE website

The following were successful in receiving this award in previous years.

Year Recipient/s
  • Dr Stefanie Croghan, Urology – Awarded a Fellowship in Endourology, Freeman Hospital, Newcastle, UK.
  • Dr Ian Reynolds, General and Colorectal Surgery – Awarded an International Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, USA.
  • Dr Jessie Eliot, General Surgery – Awarded a Fellowship in Robotic Oesophagogastric Cancer Surgery based in University Medical Centre, Utrecht, the Netherlands.
  • Dr Kris Hughes, Paediatric Surgery –  Awarded a Fellowship in paediatric general surgery with a special interest in paediatric trauma based in the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Dr Cliodhna Browne, Urology – Awarded a Scholarship, Clinical Fellowship in Minimally Invasive Urological Surgery, Austin Health, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Dr Andrew Hughes, Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery – Awarded a Busary International Pelvic and Lower Extremity Reconstruction
  • Dr Eamon Francis, Plastic Surgery – Awarded a Scholarship International Clinical Fellow in Reconstructive Microsurgery at Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Linkou, Taiwan
  • Dr Helen Mohan, General Surgery – Awarded a Scholarship International Fellow in  locally advanced and recurrent colorectal cancer at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre in Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr Ailin Rogers, Colorectal Surgery – Awarded a Bursary, Fellowship in robotic colorectal surgery and multivisceral resection for advanced pelvic malignancy based in The Royal Marsden Hospital, London.
  • Dr Adrian McArdle – a one-year Fellowship in Oncologic and Microvascular Reconstructive Surgery at the University of Toronto
  • Dr Eva Bolton – a one-year Retroperitoneal and Pelvic Urological Oncology Fellowship at the Royal Marsden Hospital, London
  • Dr Emmeline Nugent – six-month Fellowship in Minimally Invasive Colorectal Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic, Ohio
  • Dr Peadar Waters – one-year Surgical Oncology Fellowship in Robotic and Minimally Invasive Surgery for Advanced Colorectal Malignancy at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Melbourne
  • Dr Kah Hoong Chang – six-month fellowship in Advanced Pelvic Malignancies & Robotic Colorectal Surgery Fellowship at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney, Australia
  • Dr Niall Davis – one-year Fellowship in Minimally Invasive Genitourinary Tract Surgery at the Austin Hospital, Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr Helen Heneghan – one-year Phoenix Fellowship in Bariatric Surgery in Chester, England
  • Dr Anne Collins – one year fellowship in Plastic, Reconstructive and Microsurgery in St Vincent’s Hospital Sydney, Australia
  • Dr Aoife Lowery – one-year International Fellowship in Minimal Access Endocrine Surgery in Hospital Universitaire Timone, Marseille, France
  • Dr Sarah Earley – one-year Transcutaneous Aortic Valve Implantation / Major Aortic Fellowship in the London Heart Hospital University College Hospital London England