RCSI Travel Grants

The purpose of the Fund is to promote international goodwill in surgery by providing financial assistance to allow travel overseas to visit centres of excellence for clinical training purposes. The experience to be gained from the overseas visit would not normally be available to the applicant in Ireland. 

The number and value of grants awarded will be at the discretion of the Selection Board on an annual basis. 

The minimum value of each grant will be €1,000 and higher amounts at the discretion of the Selection Board.

The Board will meet in the spring of each year to consider the award of the grants and to make recommendations to the College.

RCSI works in partnership with companies across the healthcare sector to advance surgical education and training. RCSI thanks Johnson & Johnson MedTech for its ongoing support to surgery in Ireland.

Please note: the application period for this grant has now closed.

Applications will be considered from the following:

  • Surgical trainees who, at the date of application, are at an advanced stage of surgical training in the RCSI, and are Members or Fellows of the RCSI and in good standing.
  • Fellows or Members of the RCSI in good standing who have completed surgical training in the RCSI within two years from the date of application.

Candidates are encouraged to plan as far in advance as possible as retrospective applications may be disqualified. The Selection Board favours applicants who have already received academic distinction in their postgraduate education and applications which demonstrate that the applicant is using their initiative to obtain experience above and beyond that which they would likely derive from clinical experience in Ireland.

The applicants must have clear and specific objectives for the proposed visit. The Board does not favour applications for travel grants from those wishing to attend conferences or scientific meetings.

Among the criteria the Board will consider in making its recommendations, will be the:

  • merits of the proposed centre in relation to the candidate’s learning objectives;
  • candidate’s curriculum vitae; and
  • likely value to the Irish health service from the proposed overseas visit.
RCSI Travel Grants - Criteria PDF | 222.1 KB

The following were successful in receiving this award in previous years.

Year Recipients
2024  Ian Sean Reynolds, Joseph McLoughlin, Matthew Lee, Noel Edward Donlon, Paula Wrafter, Sharon Kennedy
2023 Patrick Carroll, Shane Considine, Jessie Elliott, Justin Hintze, Fergal Kavanagh, Robert Kenyon, Evelyn Murphy, Frank Reilly, Paul Sexton
2022 Patrick Carroll, Maire Caitlin Casey, Shane Considine, Adam Daly, David Dalton, Usman Haroon, Andrew Hughes, Aisling Looney, Rebecca Lyons
2021  Cillian Clancy, Gerard Sheridan, Jack Woods
2020 Katherine Browne, Conall Fitzgerald, Robbie Woods
2019 Edel Quinn, Philip J. O'Halloran, Anna L. Walsh
2018 Oisin Breathnach, David Coyle, Jaime Doody, John Galbraith, David Kearney, Elizabeth McElnea, Sarah Moran, Gregory Nason, Kieron Sweeney, Peadar Waters
2017 Anne Collins, Niamh Collins, Paul Carroll, Niall Davis, Roisin Dolan, Claire Donohoe, John Galbraith, Patrick Joseph Groake, John Kelly, Philip O’Halloran, Fardod O’Kelly, Padhraig O’Loughlin, Colin Pierce
2016 Chee Yean Chan, Kah Hoong Chang, Eamon Francis, Justin Kelly, Jey Kulasegarah, David O'Briain, Johannes Oosthuizen, Mark Quinlan, Fiachra Rowan, Stephen Ryan, Deirdre Seoighe
2015 Joseph Baker, Anne Collins, James Forde, Helen Heneghan, Rory Kennelly, Barry McGuire, Seamus McHugh, Shirley Potter, Mira Sadadcharam

Derek Cawley, Roisin Dolan, Deirdre Fanning, Eoin Fenton, Ann-Marie Kennedy, Darren Liu, Damian McCartan, Anthony Stafford, Arun Thomas

2013 Zahraa Al-Hilli, Joseph Baker, James Cashman, Eimear Conroy, Ivor Cullen, John Curran, Colin Murphy, Brendan O'Daly
2012 Brian Devitt, Olivia Flannery, Claragh Healy, Michael Leonard, Timothy M. Murphy, Kieran Power, James C. Walsh
2011 Padraig Daly, Rustom Manecksha, Anne C. O'Neill, Frazer Smith, Myles Smith
2010 Michael Donnelly, Paul O'Neill, James O'Riordan
2009 D. Beddy, Mihai Horia Vioreanu